Exhibition, Performance
No Show
Various Artists
No Show, 2021
Photo: Zan Wimberley
Carriageworks invites eleven artist-led initiatives from across New South Wales for No Show. Including artist-run spaces, studios, cooperatives, digital platforms and online publications, each group presents an independent program that profiles early career and under-represented artists. Across three weeks, artists and writers work within the discrete but connected spaces designed by architects Youssofzay + Hart, who won the 2022 Small Project Award at the NSW Institute of Architects Awards for their work on No Show.

ANKLES presenting Whether the Weather by artist Ella Sutherland

Boomalli Aboriginal Artists Co-operative presenting Loom curated by Kyra Kum-Sing with artists Rubyrose Bancroft, Chenaya Bancroft-Davis, Jamie Eastwood, Jenny Fraser and Maddison Gibbs

Firstdraft presenting Close Contact, including artists Tom Blake, Amy Claire Mills, Jazz Money, Athena Thebus and Leo Tsao

KNULP presenting Good Will Hunting

Our Neon Foe presenting artists Priscilla Bourne, Kate Brown, Mark Brown, Chris Burton, Simon Lawrence, Nicola Morton

Pari presenting 5 from 5 curated by Kalanjay Dhir, Talitha Hanna and Tian Zhang, including artists Richmond Kobla Dido (Kobla Photography), Leila el Rayes, Kath Fries, Mehmet Mevlütoğlu and Feras Shaheen

Prototype presenting Radical Ecologies curated by Lauren Carroll Harris, including artists Tiyan Baker, Hannah Brontë, Amelia Hine, Robert Nugent, Sam Smith and Jodie Whalen with essay by writer Phoebe Chen

Running Dog presenting a residency program, including writers June Tang, Anne Marie Te Whiu and Chloe Watfern, alongside text by writers Sarinah Masukor and Naomi Riddle

Runway Journal presenting Issue 43: Divine curated by Nathan Beard, including artists and writers Aisyah Aaqil Sumito, Elham Eshraghian-Haakansson, Diego Ramirez and JD Reforma

Studio A presenting Butterfly Universe. Rainbow Plait by artists Mathew Calandra, Jaycee Kim and Skye Saxon

WAYOUT Artspace presenting The Bitter Crust, including artists Gus Armstrong, Leo Cremonese, Flavia Dujour, Karen Golland, Michael Petchkovsky, Georgina Pollard, Greg Pritchard, Julie Williams and Alex Wisser



12 February –
7 March 2021

Project Director:

Daniel Mudie Cunningham


Aarna Fitzgerald Hanley